Ask for Directions

Up until my junior year of high school, I hadn’t given a thought to what I wanted to be. I had no clue what my calling was, and at that point, I didn’t care.
As soon as I found something I was good at, I latched onto it and clung on very, very hard. I beat myself up to fit into the mold of that career and was overcome with stress. Finally, I came to the realization that even if I am good at something, it doesn’t mean I should do it forever. I felt wonderful about my decision to change until I realized I may never settle on anything, and I panicked.
In high school, I’d never been one to ask for help, but now it feels like I’m in an advising office every other week. “Man is not an island,” it has been said, and I’m finally discovering that, for once, I am not the exception to the rule.

Have something to say?