4 Questions for Living with Intention in 2014

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about what it means to live with intention. I’ve just graduated college and I’ve got my whole life ahead of me. It’s hard not to feel pressured to “do it right.” But what is right?

There are hundreds of factors in every decision we make. Money, work, family, society… Too often we end up making choices out of necessity, or by default. Now, sometimes we do have to grit our teeth and do something we don’t want to do. But if we make too many choices without our own values in mind, we risk losing ourselves. That’s why I want to know my intention.

A new year is often thought of as a new beginning. But instead of starting from scratch, this year I’ve used today as a time of reflection, to remember what I did the year before and see what it can tell me about person I want to be. Hopefully after thinking over these questions you’ll find a pattern that helps you understand a bit more about who you want to be, too.

  1. Think about the changes in your life in 2013. Which changes felt like you were being true to yourself? What did you value about those changes?
  2. What factors motivated you to make concessions in your life? Were they worth it?
  3. What do you want to change in your life? What do these desires say about what you value?
  4. Think about the type of person you want to be. What values or ideals does this person have?

Wishing a peaceful 2014 to all!

Have something to say?

