My NSAC

Nearly two months after the competition, I finally got around to posting my work from the National Student Advertising Competition. I’m not sure why it took me so long. You think I’d have been bursting at the seams to share our brilliant campaign with the world. ‘Cause it is kind of brilliant.

But man, talk about burned out.

From January to April, the words “Glidden” and “Walmart” used up at least 50% of my breath. I went to bed at 10 p.m. every night from sheer exhaustion and dreamed about them. I paid little attention to my other classes because of them. Would I do it again? No effin’ way. Am I glad I did it? Definitely.

If you’re a student and you have the chance to participate in the NSAC, do it. When you’re done, you’ll have planned and executed an entire campaign, put together a marketing deck and pitched it to the client. That’s impressive. The NSAC will teach you things about advertising that you could never learn in a classroom. That being said, you get out of it what you put into it. Nothing more, nothing less.

Tomorrow is the national competition in Phoenix. We could have been there. Our second place score is absolutely nothing to be ashamed of, but we could have been there. And we could have done really well. But that happens. Sometimes, you have no idea what your client is looking for. So you just give it your best shot, and that’s the best you can do.

Have something to say?