Tex-Mex Stuffed Bell Peppers

A few weeks ago, I made an important discovery. My boyfriend, who routinely eats fast food and Pringles Cheez-ums, likes bell peppers. Whoa.

Now, to his credit, he isn’t really a picky eater, just someone who doesn’t have enough time/motivation to cook all the time. He always tries what I put in front of him, and generally he likes it. But bell peppers used be a problem food of mine, so this discovery was pretty awesome. And it meant we needed to make stuffed bell peppers.

There are so many stuffed bell pepper recipes that I might be crazy adding mine to the mix, but let me tell you — these are GOOD. Everyone who tried them agrees. All three of us.

But seriously — very yummy, very easy. And if you eat Paleo, this recipe is nearly there besides the cheese (right? I’m still not 100% on that). If you’re vegan, you could sub the meat with lentils and/or beans (I’m hooked on lentils lately, they’re such a winter food).

My boyfriend likes things organized neatly. So I introduced him to the tumblr of the same name.

My boyfriend likes things organized neatly. So I introduced him to the Tumblr of the same name.

Tex-Mex Stuffed Bell Peppers

1 lb ground meat (we used beef, but turkey would be great, too)
1/2 small onion, chopped
2 large mushrooms, chopped
2 cloves garlic, chopped
14 oz salsa (I used the hot Joe T. Garcia’s from that restaurant in Ft. Worth, and I think this made a huge difference in the recipe)
1/2 can of corn
two handfuls baby spinach (ish)
small handful cilantro, chopped
cumin
chili powder
salt, to taste
3 bell peppers, cut in half and seeds removed
mexican blend of cheeses, shredded or grated

Brown the meat, then add the onion, mushrooms and garlic. Sautee until the onion is translucent. Reduce to low heat and add the salsa, corn, baby spinach, cilantro and spices, and stir to combine.
Fill the bell peppers to the brim with the mix and top with cheese. Place on a baking sheet and bake at 400 for 20 minutes, until cheese starts to get kinda browned.

P.S. If you have any leftover stuffing, try mixing it with a scrambled egg. Delish!

Have something to say?

