Hot and Sour Soup from a Kroger

I’ve loved Hot and Sour soup for longer than I can remember. My parents say that when I was little bitty they’d pick out the tofu for me, and I didn’t even mind the spiciness. I’ve never understood why anyone would pick egg-drop over this deliciousness. In fact, I use this soup as a quality meter for Chinese restaurants. If your Hot and Sour soup sucks, there’s a chance I might never step foot in your restaurant again.

Image

But we can’t all make traditional Hot and Sour soups in our own homes. Three years ago, my mom and I became somewhat addicted to it, so we devised a recipe from things you can find at your very own suburban supermarket. We must have made two pots of this soup every week for awhile there. Making this soup reminds me of my mom and home-cooked meals, so now that the weather’s getting colder you can guarantee I’ll be making it often.

Note: I added cilantro to this batch, and it was delicious but hardly authentic. Use your judgement!

Hot and Sour Soup by Loryn and Mom

14.5 oz (1 can) chicken broth
1 tbsp soy sauce
½ tsp salt
1 can chicken
½ c. bamboo shoots
½ cake of tofu, sliced
1 egg
½ tsp white pepper
chopped green onions
2 tbsp corn starch
2 tbsp red wine vinegar
Chinese hot oil

Combine first 3 ingredients and simmer.
Add chicken, bamboo shoots, and sliced tofu, bring to boil.
Beat egg and add slowly while stirring constantly in one direction.
Keep simmering and add white pepper and green onions.
Mix corn starch and red wine vinegar in small bowl, add to soup while stirring constantly.
Top with hot oil to taste.

Simon approves!

Have something to say?

