Black Bean and Spinach Spicy Hummus

Yesterday was a day of many firsts. It was the first time I tried to make homemade mayonnaise, which didn’t thicken right but still made an excellent egg salad, and the first time Simon discovered the dishwasher.

Caught!

It was also the first time I ever cooked my hummus.

Yes, that’s right. I cooked it, and it was delicious.

I’ve been making hummus for awhile now, and every time I do something differently. This time, I put in too much of the garbanzo bean juice. I knew I had done it as soon as I poured it in, but did I stop and try to remove some of it? Of course not. I went ahead and blended everything up and made a dip that really better resembled soup than hummus.
So, I added a can of black beans (drained, of course), and it was still too soupy. What’s a girl to do? I went ahead and put it in a saucepan and brought it to a boil.
The verdict? Delicious. The heat really helped bring out the onion, garlic, and lemon and some of the natural flavors of the usually less flavorful canned beans. I guess you could say this is kind of like the refried beans of Middle Eastern cooking. It’s not exactly an authentic recipe, but man, it’s worth it.

Black Bean and Spinach Spicy Hummus

1 c. frozen spinach (I had some and I wanted to get rid of it. You can use a cup of cooked fresh spinach, too. Or maybe just a cup of fresh spinach.)
1 can garbanzo beans
1 can black beans
1 clove garlic, finely chopped
3-4 slices white onion, finely chopped
juice from half a lemon
sea salt
cayenne pepper
cumin
red pepper flakes

1. Combine everything except the seasonings in a bowl and blend together with an immersion blender. It’s gonna look soupy.
2. Put mixture in saucepan and cook over medium heat, uncovered.
3. While it’s coming to a boil, add the seasonings to taste.
4. When it starts bubbling, stir constantly so nothing sticks to the bottom. Also, because it’s so thick, the bubbles will make a heckuva mess.
5. Put it back in a bowl and let it cool. Refrigerate, or serve warm.

Have something to say?

