Best Summer Salsa

Oh man, I’m so sorry, y’all. Finals and graduations (unfortunately not mine) and working and moving completely usurped my spring, leaving me with no time to blog. But good news! I have a new, adorable house, a new, adorable boyfriend, and a new, adorable kitten.

I’m sure you can tell which is the most important 😉
Since I haven’t posted in forever I think y’all deserve a special treat. I’m going to share my super-secret, super-awesome, super-yummy recipe for salsa.
My dad had a garden when I was younger, and he would grow squash, peppers, tomatoes, green beans, corn, and more. We would always have an abundance of yellow squash, which my mom would make into an extremely unappetizing casserole of squash, milk, bread, and cheese that I still give her a hard time for. But more importantly, we had plenty of tomatoes, the main ingredient in salsa, and my favorite ingredient, cilantro.
Because of the garden and my Tex-Mex upbringing, I prefer salsas that are chunky, flavorful, and spicy. So I developed this recipe, and it hasn’t failed me yet.
HOWEVER! This time I left the base recipe the same but threw in a mango, and it was absolutely phenomenal.

2 cans plain diced tomatoes
1/2 red onion
1/2 white onion
a few green onions
handful fresh cilantro
2-3 cloves of garlic
1 mango (optional)
1 large jalapeno (or two smaller ones)
cumin
salt
black pepper

Simply put, the entire recipe is to dice or chop all the veggies, use an immersion blender to blend to preferred chunkiness, season to taste, chill overnight, and serve.
Although you can use fresh tomatoes, I sometimes actually prefer canned or cooked ones. It doesn’t matter what brand you buy, just pick up some plain, cheap tomatoes, and I swear that after you add the garlic, onions, and cilantro, you’ll never know the difference.

I suggest dicing the garlic and then mashing it with the flat of the blade to release more flavor.

If you want a spicy salsa, leave the seeds in the jalapeno, but I’ve found that removing the seeds gives the salsa a smooth sort of spice rather than one that kicks you in the butt.

Serve with tortilla chips (any kind will do!) and beer. Shiner Wild Hare goes really well with the mango salsa, and their Ruby Redbird is amazing with plain salsa.

Simon knows what’s up.

2 thoughts on “Best Summer Salsa

Have something to say?

