Hearty Microwave “Muffin”

When I went home this summer, my mom introduced me to these awesome, thick, hearty, protein-rich oatmeal pancakes that she cooks in her cast iron skillet. They’re fabulous. It’s basically one egg, oatmeal, and milk, so when I found this recipe for a microwave “muffin” I was actually completely down to try it.
But you know me. I can’t leave a recipe alone.

Reading my textbook at breakfast. Welcome to college.

Loryn’s Microwave “Muffin”

1 egg
1/4 c. old-fashioned oats
dash of salt
splash of half & half (or milk, soy milk, or almond milk)

Combine all in microwave-safe bowl (I used my Pyrex measuring cup) and microwave for about one and a half minutes, or until solid.

I only used half and half because that’s all I had. It would work well with any other type of milk, too. The recipe absolutely needed salt, however, so regardless of what milk you use, make sure you add the salt.
I would like to add that one muffin cost me less than fifty cents. Eggs are a dollar for six, oats are about two dollars for 18 oz, and half & half is about three dollars for a quart. Cheapest breakfast ever.
I topped my “muffin” with currants and a drizzle of honey, just like my mom does with her pancakes. I have that recipe for you, too 🙂

Mom’s Oatmeal Pancakes

1 egg
1/4 c. milk or buttermilk (soy milk and almond milk acceptable here, too)
1/2 c. oats
1 tsp. cottage cheese or Greek yogurt (optional)
1/8 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. baking powder (optional, especially if you use buttermilk)

Stir together and if you use milk (i.e. anything but buttermilk), let sit for 5 min to thicken. Cook in hot buttered skillet.

Enjoy your hearty, healthy breakfast! Live long and prosper!

2 thoughts on “Hearty Microwave “Muffin”

Have something to say?

