Adventures in Natural Skin Care

I was blessed with clear, healthy skin throughout high school. I rarely used any sort of concealer or foundation and cleansed with only a mild astringent at nights. Now I’m in my second year of college and my hormones have decided to have a party on my face and not clean up the mess. It’s not like I can’t go out in public or anything, but for someone as untrained as I am in the ways of acne products, it’s a bit traumatizing. I’ve committed all sorts of skin care faux pas trying to muscle my skin into submission, leaving my skin dry, itchy, blotchy, and using lots of chemicals in the process. That’s not what I want.
  No, I want the clear, natural skin I had a few years ago, and I don’t want to rely on some chemical, specially-formulated, commercial cleanser for the rest of my life. That’s why I’m going to try the oil-cleansing method.
  Tsh at SimpleMom.net has an extremely popular post that’s still going around on Pinterest, and it’s the best resource that I’ve found. Tsh goes into excellent detail about what’s going on when you clean your face with oils and offers great advice about different oils you can use and how to use them. The best part of it is that she has used this method for over a year and still loves it!
   When I first found the post, I didn’t have any castor oil, but I had tea tree oil, so I mixed that with some extra-virgin olive oil (EVOO) and tested it out. After just one night I swear I had fewer blackheads and my softer skin. Today I bought some castor oil and I am quite excited to try it tonight.

The ratios in the mixture are flexible depending on your skin care needs, so I began mine in the middle:

  • 1 part EVOO
  • 1 part castor oil
  • 5 drops tea tree oil

Money-saving tip: I found castor oil pretty much right next to the tea tree oil in the health section of my H.E.B., but it was way cheaper in the laxative section at the pharmacy. I paid $2.75 for the castor oil, $3.58 for H.E.B. brand EVOO, and $7.99 for the tea tree oil. I barely made a dent in the bottle over the past few nights, so it looks like this is definitely a green, frugal choice!

UPDATE 1/14/12:
Tsh says this, but I didn’t believe it until I tried — this stuff is great for removing makeup! In my opinion, it’s worth it just for that. Also, I’m not sure whether it’s just hormones or the OCM, but my skin has definitely cleared up in the past few weeks. Either way, I’m going to keep using it!

Have something to say?

