"Gingerbread" Ornaments

Well, it’s Christmastime again! Finals are over, all the college kids have gone home, and it’s time to reconnect to your family and high school friends (the ones that you still talk to, at least). By the time I had gotten home, my family had already set up the tree, but I still got to be festive while wrapping family presents.

Train and tiny village courtesy of my youngest sister (she’s 14).

My girlfriends and I got together to have a festive party during which we ate lots of Christmas cookies and decorated fake gingerbread ornaments made from a recipe my mom has had since before I can remember. They’re easy, quick, and fun– just like I like it!

My glittery Christmas tree!

“Gingerbread” Ornaments

2 c. flour
1 c. salt
5 tsp. cinnamon
3/4-1 c. water

1. Mix all dry ingredients together.
2. Add water and mix until smooth (it shouldn’t be crumbly, if it is, you should add more water).
3. Roll out, just like regular cookie dough, and use cookie cutters to make “cookies.” Use a straw to make a hole for hanging. I recommend using a coffee straw if the cookie is on the smallish side.
4. Bake at 325 for about 45 min. to 1 hr., or until dry.
5. Decorate with paints, glitter, whatever, and add a ribbon or string for hanging.
6. Spray with an acrylic seal, if desired. The cookies come out a little white sometimes so the seal helps them appear more like gingerbread.

That’s it! My family has some little gingerbread men we made when I was about 8 that are still hanging on our tree, and they still smell like cinnamon, too! Merry Christmas, everyone!

Have something to say?

