Impromptu Thai Red Curry with Butternut Squash

I don’t know how I survived to be nineteen without ever tasting Thai curry. A few weeks ago I ordered it at a restaurant on a whim and I’ve been hooked since the first bite, addicted to the creamy yet spicy, unparalleled taste of curry. I have probably eaten curry four times in the past week alone, and craved it much more often, so it only follows that today I had to impulse-buy red curry paste and a butternut squash.
  It was only about ten in the morning when I got home, but the pull of my pending culinary adventure was too strong. I immediately went to the kitchen. Only an hour later, I emerged victorious.

2 tblsp red curry paste
1 14 oz can coconut milk
2 cloves garlic, minced
6 or 7 frozen basil leaves, chopped
3/4 butternut squash, cubed
Handful green beans, cut
1/2 can black beans
1 tsp sugar
Cayenne pepper
Salt

1. Mix curry paste and coconut milk in saucepan.
2. Add garlic, basil and vegetables, let simmer until squash is tender.
3. Stir in sugar, season with Cayenne and salt to taste.

A few concerns: I forgot the fish oil, a staple of Thai cooking, so next time I will probably add a teaspoon. I also would have liked to add lime juice and have used brown sugar instead of white.
  I must say, for an impulse recipe, it turned out pretty well. The aroma of simmering coconut milk is absolutely magical; I’ve decided that must be what serenity tastes like. The smooth, sensational texture, mingling with the complex spices… Am I getting poetical? Oh well. That’s what happens when you fall in love.

Have something to say?

