Quiche "Loryn"

Most quiches are contained by a fancy little crust. They sit formally on dainty porcelain plates surrounded by petite pink curlicues, quite delicious in their own right, but imprisoned by their (often dry) crusts. Sometimes a girl just needs to chow down on a liberated quiche that can fully express all of its cheesy and eggy goodness. My friends, this is that quiche.
  I’ve used this recipe so many times and changed it so much that the original recipe has become quite muddled, but oh-my-God is it ever delicious. This recipe is nearly impossible to mess up so it’s perfect for the beginner gourmet.

3/4 c flour (I use white whole wheat)
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp sugar
1/8 tsp salt
2 tbsp olive oil
2 c milk
4 eggs
1/4 c butter, softened
1 c grated Parmesan cheese
2 c vegetable (chopped)
1 c meat (in bits)
8 oz shredded Cheddar cheese

1. Preheat oven to 375. Lightly grease (I use olive oil) a 10-inch round pan.
2. In small bowl, mix flour, baking powder, sugar, salt, and olive oil.
3. In large bowl, beat together milk, eggs, and butter. Try as best as you can to get rid of any butter lumps, but in the end it doesn’t really matter. Add dry ingredients and parmesan cheese. Now you’re gonna have lumps no matter what.
4. Stir in vegetables, meat, and cheddar cheese. Pour into round pan.
5. Bake for 50 minutes (or until set). The top should be a nice golden-brown color and it shouldn’t jiggle when you take it out of the oven.
6. Cut and consume!

As far as veggies and meat go, I’ve tried several different combinations and all of them have been most excellent. Feel free to experiment! I’m a big fan of spinach, but broccoli is one of my family’s favorites as well. For meat, I usually go back and forth between bacon and breakfast sausage. Breakfast sausage is by far my favorite because it adds that extra kick.
  I’ve been meaning to try and dress this recipe up one day, meaning I would use fancy cheeses like Havarti or Gruyere, and savory vegetables like celery, leeks, or maybe even kale… This recipe is extremely flexible, so please, have fun with it. That’s what I always do!

P.S. I hope to someday soon have a decent camera. I feel so awful posting these recipes without any sort of image, so I hope my language is enough to convince you of their deliciousness!

UPDATE 1/7/12: I made a spinach and mushroom quiche today for a brunch tomorrow, and now that I have a camera I figured this merited a picture!

Some of the egg sank to the bottom of the quiche, which means I need to do a better job of mixing it up next time.
  I usually make my quiches in a round layer cake pan, but this time I decided to split it in two so I can have a quiche for my family and a quiche for the brunch. Both quiches turned out wonderfully, and the only adjustments I made were to lower the oven temperature to 350 degrees and cut the cook time to about half an hour. Just proves how flexible this recipe is!

Have something to say?

