Words Can’t Express: Jack White and the Insane Clown Posse

When I first heard (one week ago to date) that Jack White was collaborating with the Insane Clown Posse, I laughed. I was shopping at Plato’s Closet, the news was a blip on the store’s pop culture radio station, and I scoffed. It was one of those things that is weird enough to not even register.
  I admit, I once was a fan of Jack White’s. A big fan. His and Meg’s music carried me through my freshman year of high school, and later the Raconteurs served as a nice background for my indie inclinations. He has kind of faded to the background of my musical scope, but until now I had no overpowering reason to actually dislike him or any of the music he has created.
  As far as the Insane Clown Posse goes… well, the impression I have of them is not favorable, to say the least, but until now, I was never offended by anything they’ve done. To me they’re more like a joke that never fails to get a laugh. At one point I probably referenced their song “Miracles” on a weekly basis.

But this… is not okay.

Honestly, I’d expect something of this caliber from the Insane Clown Posse; like the bulk of the celebrity world, to me they are merely a source of ridicule and my general feeling towards them is ambivalent. In other words, I give very few sh*ts about what they do.
  But enough is enough, Jack White. In one stroke, he has lost any sort of respect I once had for him. I get it, he wants to shock, he wants to be edgy, but nothing is new or unique about spotlighting Mozart as a pervert. Cracked.com beat him to it almost exactly one year ago. It’s such an adolescent tendency, to go out of your way to make sure others know that yes, even though we idolize these people for their contributions to academia, they were freaks in the bedroom. Shakespeare may have been gay, Ben Franklin loved messing around with the ladies, and yet none of it has any real bearing on the fact that they changed the world.
   And to top it all off, the song is disgustingly crass. I would never want my name pinned to something like this.
   So, Jack White, you got my attention today, but I can guarantee you that nothing else you do after this will even register on my radar. Mr. White has effectively joined the ranks of Paris Hilton, Lindsay Lohan, and the ICP itself. It makes me kind of sad, but c’est la vie. Sometimes people (Mozart, Einstein, Chaucer…) are just weird.

Have something to say?

