Friday Five: About my Car

Okay, I realize this is a bit wimpy of me, but I came across these five questions in a random blog labeled “The Friday Five” and because they’re about cars and I love my car, I’m using it!
1. What vehicle do you drive?
A 2008 Mazda 6i. It’s beige, what of it? I call it El Tigrito.
It’s this, without the spoiler.  Source.

2. How long have you had it?

I bought it two Januaries ago, so that’d be a year and a quarter. 
Cool story: It was decided that I needed my own car before I went off to college, which I was totally okay with. I’d been looking at Craigslist cars in my area for over a year and saving like mad. One day near the end of January ’10 my dad and I decided on a whim to go car shopping.
The first car we looked at that day was nearly identical to mine (it was beige, too!) but with a manual transmission for $10 grand. The guy didn’t know what he had so we told him  we were interested and we’d have our mechanic take a look at it on Monday. We saw some other cars that day, but nothing special, and pretty much consistently over my price range (10k was pushing it). 
The very last place we looked was a Ford dealership. We got there right at closing but they were so busy they just pushed on through into the night. They had several ’08 Mazda 6s for some reason, and most of them were black or silver with spoilers and cost about $14k, but mine, the homely beige 6 with a few more miles on her, was only $9,500. I took a lovely sporty black one out for a test drive and then told the guy, “Hey, I want that one.” And I paid for it myself. How’s that for a happy ending?

3. What is the coolest feature on your vehicle?
Probably the way the windows keep rolling if you pull or push the button all the way and then rebound if an object (like a hand) gets caught in it. My friend Lacey and I discovered that one day while I was driving in town and I nearly ran someone over ’cause I got so excited. You don’t even know.

4. What is the most annoying thing about your vehicle?
The lack of an auxiliary input jack. I mean, it’s an ’08! I realize my car is made for old people and old people really have no need for an aux in jack, but seriously, that would have been nice. My mom’s Mazda CX-9 is a year or two older than my car and it has an aux in jack! And it’s a mom car!

5. If money were no object, what vehicle would you be driving right now?
That is such a tough call. I think, if money were no object, for my day-to-day driving car, I would want an Audi R8.

Source.

Such smooth lines and excellent acceleration. That, my friend, is a sexy car. But I also have a very soft spot for classic American muscle, like ’70s Chevelles and ’69 Mustangs. Those are terribly sexy as well. But for my daily driver, definitely an Audi R8.

2 thoughts on “Friday Five: About my Car

  1. Don't take this the wrong way but… I miss when you used to talk about your own opinions and experiences in college and high school. Posting your college application essays and such, and then just answering bare-bones questions about your car… I don't know. I'm not trying to be harsh or discouraging, please believe me! It's just waaaaay more interesting when you post more original stuff. I know you're busy lately, but if you're gonna do one post a week, I'd make it something personal, something interesting and something we'd all care to really read about. Once again, I'm just offering constructive criticism, I don't mean any offense! :S

  2. Hey, thanks! I didn't even realize. I'm pretty insecure about my own opinions because I know that I can be naïve (see quote #1 from the 3/18 Friday Five), and it's good to know that someone enjoys reading them. Let me see what I can do for a good post this week 🙂

Have something to say?

